Little people & their friends

Well my 6 year old daughter and my 4 year old son each had a friend around today to play.  In honesty I was dreading it.  The kids have never had friends around before, it’s not my thing.  I don’t really remember doing it myself much as a child.  I feel anxious having my house raided by outsiders.  My home is our little world, complete with dry toast under the sofa and unflushed toilets (the kids do this by way not us).  The thought of people who are not family coming around fills me with fear.  I know it shouldn’t, but it does.  I always think they will look at the dust on the skirting boards or the little handprints on the window and think “what does this woman do all day?”.  Wow I do sound crazy, I swear I am not.  I’m just a homey type of person.  However today I took the plunge today and around they came with their mams. Lots of noise, lots of thudding from upstairs, a pizza eating competition followed by bouncing on the trampoline.  Had a good old gossip with the girls too which is always good! So after all that, all was ok…..the only thing is the kids want this to happen again!!!! ARRRRGGHHHH PASS ME THE DUSTER!Image

2 thoughts on “Little people & their friends

  1. Can very much relate! I go into panic mode and keep apologising for pen all over walls, doors hanging off, broken curtains… & can’t relax or talk to friends as children are too noisy!!

  2. I am glad its not just me! I too find myself apologising for things and I hate myself for doing that. I spent all morning cleaning around stupid things like radiators and picture frames, just incase my visitors take a look. Its stupid really!

Leave a Reply

